First Day of Homeschool

  I thought it would be chaos. 3 children, Homeschooling for the first time. We selected Ohio Connections Academy because the structure is very close to a brick and mortar school. The kids do ” Live Lessons” at least one per subject per week, sometimes more, especially Math. They have a schedule of work daily and most are online. I have access as a “Learning Coach”. I’m able to approve the work they complete  without modifying it (I found out today that it automatically goes to the teacher, this is just for me, if I need to be a whistle blower and say they didn’t complete the work they claim they did). We woke up early in expectation of a flurry of activity. 7:30 a.m. came quickly. We found out right away that the Teachers were still loading assignments and calendar activity. There were a few technical challenges, a disabled mouse being a major challenge for Vaughn (9 years old). We quickly realized the school and tech support open at 9 a.m.  The kids were anxious to get started so we muddled through the activites online they could complete. There was a bit of frustration, I’m juggling a new online part-time job related to Staging furniture properly, to sell up cycled pieces. Giving suggestions on the best possible picture to show off the artist work. I love love love it. However, with it being a worldwide page, people across the pond were patiently waiting for help. I have to say despite it all, it was a great day. We ended school with a trip to our favorite Centerville library. The kids stayed fairly calm, a few frustrating moments. I realized that so far, homeschool is very relaxed, because, you are in a non-stressful environment and the distractions are minimized. It’s amazing, the time it saves. This evening the kids checked their schedules in preparation for tomorrow. So no surprises first thing in the morning. I have hopes to clean and paint tomorrow. Oh how I miss a paint brush in my hand. Its been over a week! The picture above is the craft room. I haven’t painted all the desks yet, so Vaughn and Lauren worked here today. It worked perfect. I want to give them 2 spaces to use. That way they are in an optimal learning enviornment.

Leave a Reply

